The West African nation of Togo achieved sovereignty in 1960, when 14 French-African colonies ceded from France and became independent nations. Present-day Togo is bordered by Benin to the east, Ghana to the west, Burkina Faso to the north, and the Atlantic Ocean, the Bight of Benin, and the Gulf of Guinea to the south. With a population of 6.6 million people, the country's size is smaller than West Virginia and its long, narrow shape enables its residents to experience six different ecological systems within the nation's borders. Ewe and Mina are spoken in the south, Dagomba and Kabiye are spoken in the north, and French is the official language spoken in schools, trade, and government. The nation consists mostly of Ewe, Fon, Mina, and ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles