• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

The Qur'an is the holy book of all Muslims. The prophet of Islam, Muhammad, is believed to have received the Qur'an through direct revelation (610 CE). According to adherents of the religious tradition of Islam, Allah revealed the Qur'an to Muhammad through the angel Jibreel (Gabriel) during a period of 23 years.

There are 114 chapters, or suras, in the Qur'an. Traditionally, the suras are of two types: the Meccan Suras and the Medinan Suras. Each begins with the words, “In the Name of God, the Merciful, the Compassionate.” These suras often center on the theme of faith. The Meccan Suras center on issues of faith, creed, and belief, and on stories of previous prophets and nations; the Medinan Suras concentrate on legislation and law. The ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles