• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

The Republic of the Philippines contains more than 7,000 islands in the Pacific Ocean north of Indonesia. It was a Spanish colony that was ceded to the United States after the Spanish-American War in 1898 and received full independence in 1946. The population of more than 90 million people is 84% Roman Catholic, making it the largest Christian majority country in Asia. It is the third largest Catholic country in the world, after Brazil and Mexico; 9% of the population is Protestant Christian, and 5% are Muslim. Many of the Muslims are concentrated in the southern island of Mindanao, where the Moro Liberation Front has spearheaded a sometimes violent separatist movement.

Dissolution of Indigenous Culture

Originally, the main islands (Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao) were not under a ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles