Northern Mariana Islands

The Northern Mariana Islands (legally known as the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands) is one of two U.S. insular areas (an area that is American territory but not one of the 50 states) that occupy an important area of the Western Pacific. It is made up of 15 islands and is approximately 75% of the way between the state of Hawai'i and the Philippines. The primary religious belief is Christian, with most believers following Roman Catholicism.

Among the immigrants moving to the Northern Marianas, most consider themselves Catholic. The majority of social pastimes focus on the Catholic Church and its sacred celebrations, including yearly holidays in reverence of each town's patron saint. In addition, there are a number of Protestant institutions, including many of the ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles