Marshall Islands

The Marshall Islands (also called the Republic of the Marshall Islands) is a Pacific island nation that, along with Saipan, Guam, the Caroline Islands, and others, constitutes the Federated States of Micronesia, located in the center of the Pacific Ocean. The islands contain more than 60,000 people and lie to the north of Kiribati and Nauru, while to the south lies the American territory of Wake Island.

Christianity is the primary religion throughout the islands, and most citizens are Protestant. The single largest religious denomination is the United Church of Christ, with slightly more than half of the population (approximately 55%). The Pentecostal Church (found within the Assembly of God) is also well represented, with 25% of the population considering themselves adherents. Roman Catholicism has slightly ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles