The principality of Liechtenstein, a small, landlocked country in central Europe located between Switzerland and Austria, was founded in 1342. By 1434, the territory of the principality had reached its current boundaries. The Holy Roman Emperor Charles VI granted the counties of Vanduz and Schellenberg, which constitute the present-day Liechtenstein, the status of a principality in 1719. Under the constitution adopted in 1921, the people of the principality were granted sovereign political rights.

The majority of the population of Liechtenstein is of ethnic Germanic origin, while resident aliens, such as Turks, Iranians, and others, constitute one third of the country's population. The official language of the principality is German; however, approximately 87.5% of the Liechtenstein nationals speak Alemannish, which is a south German dialect.

According to ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles