Korea, Republic of (South Korea)

The Republic of Korea is an East Asian country located in the southern part of the Korean Peninsula. To the north is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), which has been separated from South Korea since 1945. Its west coast meets the Yellow Sea, across which lies China; its landmass extends out from the Asian continent into the East Sea, toward Japan.

Korea has a long history, beginning with the legendary founder, Dangun, dating back to 2333 BCE, and continuing over several dynasties such as the Gojoseon, the Goguryeo, the Baekje, the Shilla, the Goryeo, and the Joseon. The modern Republic of Korea was established after its liberation from Japanese colonial rule (1910–1945) and founded as a Western-style democratic government. It has been recognized ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles