Hawai'i, the 50th state in the United States, is located in the northeastern part of the Pacific Ocean and comprises eight islands: Hawai'i (Big Island), Maui, Lanai, Molokai, O'ahu, Kaua'i, Ni'ihau, and Kanaloa (Kaho'olawe), in addition to several atolls to the west. Hawai'i is significant because it occupies a strategic position situated between North America and Asia. Hawai'i is where East meets West.

Ancient Polynesians in outriggers embarked across the Pacific Ocean. Each wave of migration brought people to New Zealand, Tahiti, Rapa Nui, Hawai'i, and other islands of Oceania. Travel between the islands continued until it dwindled, and each island developed a separate culture.

The Kumulipo, the indigenous Hawaiian creation chant, tells the story of how each of the islands was created by the mating of ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles