The Bailiwick of Guernsey is a self-governing British Crown dependency that includes the island of Guernsey, the second largest of the English Channel Islands, along with the smaller islands of Alderney, Sark, Herm, Jethou, Brecqhou, and Lihou; together with the Bailiwick of Jersey, it is the last remnant of the medieval Dukedom of Normandy. The Church of England is the established church in Guernsey; thus, the British monarch is officially the Supreme Governor of the Church, with the Archbishop of Canterbury as the spiritual leader. As a Royal Peculiar, Guernsey is annexed to the Diocese of Winchester, having been formerly part of the Norman/French Diocese of Coutances. The Dean of Guernsey (the head priest over Guernsey parishes) is directly appointed by the Crown and serves ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles