• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Equatorial Guinea

Known as Spanish Guinea when it was a colony, Equatorial Guinea consists of three small islands and two larger islands alongside a small area of mainland West Africa. Two main cultural heritages exist within Equatorial Guinea: the Fang ethnic group residing on the mainland and the Bubi on the island of Bioko. The population is at least nominally 87% Roman Catholic, though syncretism is largely evident in the country. Protestant Christians and independent Christian organizations constitute another 6% of the populace, and adherents to Islam and the Baha'i Faith constitute an additional 1%. The Muslim community of Equatorial Guinea was growing rapidly at the beginning of the 21st century, largely due to growing numbers of immigrants from West Africa and the Middle East. Much of ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles