• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Democrtic Republic of the Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is located in west-central Africa. Its first inhabitants were Pygmies, who moved into the forests in large migrations when the Bantu came into the region from the north (2000 BCE–500 CE). It is a vast area of 905,568 square miles, with around 70 million inhabitants. In the contemporary era, the majority of the residents are Christian—50% are Roman Catholic and 20% are Protestant—while 10% are Muslim and another 10% are Kimbanguist, with the remaining 10% belonging to other syncretic and indigenous faiths. Until colonial times, the area that came to be known as the Congo Free State (1885) and as the Belgian Congo (1908–1960) was a land of indigenous religions and shamanism. Christianity, a part of the colonial ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles