Cook Islands

The Cook Islands, named in 1888 in honor of Captain James Cook, who “discovered” them during his second voyage (1772–1775), are 15 islands in the southwest Pacific Ocean, grouped in two archipelagos: The northern group comprises coral atolls, and the southern group includes Rarotonga, the main island where 68% of the population is concentrated. The Cook Islands became a British protectorate in 1888 and were transferred to New Zealand in 1901. In 1964, Cook Islanders obtained self-governance, which gives them a political autonomy and New Zealand citizenship while certain domains (money and defense) remain within New Zealand's competence. Christianity was brought to these islands between 1821 (Aitutaki Island) and 1857 (Pukapuka Island) jointly by British missionaries of the London Missionary Society (Williams, Pitman, and Buzacott) ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles