• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Cognitive Development

Development occurs in three broad domains: physical, emotional/social, and cognitive. The focus of this entry is on the cognitive domain, because cognition is a central aspect of giftedness, creativity, and talent. Cognitive development is a lifelong process of intellectual growth gained through perception, ideas, and feedback. There are several stages to cognitive development. These periods of human development are prenatal, infancy and toddlerhood, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood, and late adulthood. Although each period has its own unique opportunities and demands, each individual varies and continuously develops in unique ways. Cognitive development is influenced by a mixture of biological, social, and psychological factors, and it can lead to both growth and decline. It is not a given that an individual is ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles