The Cognitive Abilities TestTM (CogAT®), published by Riverside Publishing Company, is the most widely used group ability test in the United States and the United Kingdom. Its 11 test levels span kindergarten through Grade 12. CogAT consists of three test batteries measuring the three aspects of fluid reasoning ability that are the primary cognitive aptitudes for academic learning: verbal reasoning (V), quantitative reasoning (Q), and figural/nonverbal reasoning (N). Each of the three batteries can be administered independently. However, the profile of scores across all three batteries provides much additional information for educators.

In the spring of 2000, the sixth edition of the test was co-normed with the Iowa Tests of Basic Skills® (Grades K–8) and the Iowa Tests of Educational Development® (Grades 9–12). When administered with ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles