Biome: Midlatitude Deciduous Forest

Deciduous forests can be classified into two distinct biomes: (1) the deciduous midlatitude biome and (2) the tropical deciduous biome. Although in both biomes the trees lose their leaves during a dormant season, tropical deciduous trees experience dry conditions and subsequent leaf loss while deciduous midlatitude trees lose their leaves because of the cold season. The deciduous midlatitude forest is anything but homogeneous. Flora and fauna, soil types, and climate differ along a latitudinal and/or an east-west gradient. Tree genera are very similar between the European, North American, and Asian deciduous, midlatitude forests but diversity varies. Disturbances are a vital part of this biome.

Structure and Composition

Extending throughout the Eastern United States, much of Europe, parts of Eastern Asia, Southern South America, Eastern Australia, and ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles