Nutrient Cycles

Nutrient cycles describe the cycling in terrestrial, limnic, or marine ecosystems and in compartments of these ecosystems of those elements and chemical compounds that are essential for maintaining life. The essential elements include the macronutrients (nitrogen [N], potassium [K], calcium [Ca], magnesium [Mg], phosphorus [P], and sulfur [S]—ordered in the sequence of the mass contributions of these elements to dry shoot matter of higher plants according to Marschner, 1995) and the micronutrients (chlorine [Cl], boron [B], iron [Fe], manganese [Mn], zinc [Zn], copper [Cu], nickel [Ni], and molybdenum [Mo]). Some microorganisms, animals, and humans additionally require other elements such as chromium (Cr), selenium (Se), and vanadium (V). Carbon and water, which are also needed by all living organisms, are usually not considered as nutrients. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles