Established in 1949, the Southern Regional Education Board is a sixteen-member interstate agency whose focus is to improve education from the prekindergarten level to the postsecondary level in its member states: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. The Southern Regional Education Board has no direct governmental authority; however, the governor of each member state and four representatives appointed by the governor constitute the Board's decision-making membership.

The Board's original focus was higher education. Early programs involved member states' sharing the costs of graduate programs to avoid the expense of having separate programs in advanced areas within each state. Over time, the Board's interest grew to all levels of education. In 1981, it ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles