World Conservation Union (IUCN)

The World Conservation Union (IUCN) includes 140 member countries including more than 70 states, 100 government agencies, and 750 NGOs. Since 1948, the databases, assessments, guidelines, and case studies prepared by IUCN's global membership, commissions, and secretariat are among the world's most respected and frequently cited sources of information and reference on the environment. In the 1990s, the IUCN developed its monitoring and evaluation initiative to provide evaluation support to regional and global managers at project, program, senior management, and governance levels. Its aim is to improve skills, knowledge, learning, and institutional capacities in monitoring and evaluating the relevance, effectiveness, accountability, and efficiency of IUCN's program.


Further Reading

IUCN, the World Conservation Union. (2003)About IUCN. Retrieved June 24, 2004, from
  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles