The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB; referred to here as the Board) was established by the National Labor Relations Act (1935) as its administrative body of three members. The 1947 amendment expanded the NLRB to its present membership of five, appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. Functionally, the NLRB comprises several bodies with different roles: The 50 Regional and Area Offices handle routine information requests and initial contacts with labor and management officials; these offices receive requests for elections as well as unfair labor practice (ULP) charges; they conduct representation elections and certify the election outcomes.

The Office of the General Counsel offers general supervisory oversight of the 50 Regional and Area Offices. In addition, it investigates ULP charges and issues complaints where ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles