The seasons of the year are characterized by the ever-changing patterns of stars and weather that come and go year after year. There are astronomic seasons and climatic (also called meteorological) seasons. Seasons vary in different parts of the earth both astronomically and meteorologically. Each of the four seasons of spring, summer, autumn, and winter are three months in duration, but they vary in the amount of daylight and darkness, temperatures, and weather conditions.

The astronomical seasons of the year are measured by the rotation of the earth around the sun. The axis of the earth is an imaginary line running through the earth from the North Pole to the South Pole. The earth is not perpendicular to the plane of its orbit around the ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles