Samoa is made up of two principal islands, Upolu (1,100 square kilometers) and Savai'i (1,800 square kilometers), and six islets in the South Pacific Ocean. Both of the main islands are volcanic and mountainous; the last significant eruption occurred in 1911. The interiors are densely forested and more fertile land and soils can be found along coastlines. However, prime agricultural land only accounts for 14 percent of total land area. Of the two islands, Savai'i has poorer quality stony soils with less agricultural diversity and opportunity, while Upolu, home of almost 70 percent of the population, is more suitable for both agricultural development and settlement.

Samoa's climate is typically hot and humid with a pronounced wet season from November through March and dry season between April ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles