Morocco is a country on the western edge of North Africa (or as some would claim, it is the westernmost country of the Middle East). It has an area of 172,413 square miles and a population of 30.7 million (2005 estimate). Currently, the capital of the country is Rabat, although there are three other “imperial” cities—Marrakech, Fes, and Meknès—that have also served as capitals. Morocco is bordered by Algeria, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Atlantic Ocean. To the south is the disputed territory of Western Sahara. Although claimed by Morocco, the international community does not recognize Western Sahara as part of Morocco.

Three mountain ranges dominate Morocco: the Atlas, the Anti-Atlas, and the Rif. These mountains collectively influence weather patterns coming off the Atlantic Ocean ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles