• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

The klamath basin is a watery wildlife refuge area shared by California and Oregon, and drains the Kalmath River. It is located in Klamath, Lake, and Jackson Counties in Oregon and areas of DelNorte, Humbolt, Modoc, Sisiyou, and Trinity Counties in California.

The watershed of the Klamath Basin includes in Oregon the Sprague River, Williamson River, Sycan River, Link River, and Lost River, which is shared by both California and Oregon. It also includes Agency Lake and Upper Klamath Lake in Oregon. In California it includes the Shasta River, Scott River, Salmon River and Trinity River. California also holds Tule Lake, Lower Klamath Lake, and Butte Creek.

Much of the Klamath Basis is protected by the federal government. The Klamath Basin National Wildlife Refuges Complex is run ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles