Insects are invertebrates that are divided into 36 groups called Phyla. Phylum Arthropoda includes the class Insecta, which is further subdivided into 29 orders. Diptera (flies), Coleoptera (beetles), Phasmida (stick insects), Dictyoptera (cockroaches and praying mantids), Hymenoptera (wasps, ants, and bees), and Lepidoptera (butterflies and moths) are some examples. About 95 percent of all the animal species on earth are insects. They have a very small body, can survive on very small amount of food, and can multiply very quickly.

All insects have three body parts: a head, thorax, and abdomen. They have six jointed legs, two antennae to perceive the world around them and an exoskeleton (outside skeleton). The multilayered exoskeleton, which is composed of hardened layers of protein and chitin, form their body shape. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles