Caribbean Sea

Located adjacent to the Atlantic Ocean, the Caribbean Sea covers the majority of the Caribbean Plate. With an area of approximately 1,710,000 square kilometers (1,063,000 square miles), the Caribbean Sea surrounds dozens of islands of different sizes, with Cuba being the largest. Cuba is part of a group of islands known as the Greater Antilles, along with the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico. The Lesser Antilles includes two arcs of small islands known as the Windward and Leeward Islands. The Caribbean is a mix of independent states, such as Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago, as well as various dependent territories, such as Aruba, Martinique, and the Virgin Islands.

The Caribbean Sea borders a total of approximately 40 nations, depending on how its limits are ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles