United States, Northeast

The northeastern united states is often referred to as New England and includes the states of Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Vermont. Most of the area is part of the northern end of the Appalachian Mountains where winters are cold and snowy. The states that occupy the region were settled by the Puritans and their descendants. Other immigrant groups have also come in the 19th and 20th centuries from Ireland, Portugal, Italy, and French-speaking Canada.

Maine is in the northeast corner of the United States and is the largest of the New England states. Its city of Eastport is the most easterly of all American cities. Along with New Hampshire and Massachusetts, Maine is bound by the Atlantic Ocean on its eastern side. On the west, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles