United States, Middle Atlantic

Middle atlantic states of the United States border the Atlantic Ocean or have port cities that are accessible to it. These states include Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island. All have temperate climates with four distinct seasons, though winters are colder in the western areas, with summers hotter in the coastal areas.


Connecticut is 110 miles long and 70 miles wide. With only 5,544 square miles, it is one of the smallest of the American states. The highest point in Connecticut is Mount Frissell (2,380 feet), located in the extreme northwest corner of the state in the Berkshire Hills. Connecticut is bounded on its western boundary by New York. Rhode Island separates it from the Atlantic. To the north lies Massachusetts, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles