United States, Central South

The states of arkansas, kentucky, missouri, and Tennessee are located in the central south region of the United States. They cover a vast area stretching from the Appalachian Mountains across the middle of the Mississippi River's course westward to the beginning of the Great Plains. Geologically, the central south region covers a diverse topography of mountains, plateaus, hilly regions, and plains. Most of the region was submerged under shallow seas during several geological periods and is now covered in limestone rocks, which have eroded to make numerous caves in some areas and sweet soils for grass and crops.


Tennessee is named for the Over-the-Hills Cherokee Indian village of Tenasi. Tennessee's eastern borders are with the states of Virginia and North Carolina. In the north, it ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles