The republic of botswana is located in southern Africa, between South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Zambia. Botswana covers 600,370 square kilometers (231,803 square miles), equivalent to an area twice the size of Arizona. Formerly the British protectorate of Bechuanaland, Botswana adopted its new name upon independence on September 30, 1966. The country is named after the dominant ethnic group, the Tswana. Botswana has a population of 1,765,000 people, with 195,000 living in Gaborone, the capital city.

Botswana is the oldest democracy in Africa, with four decades of civilian leadership, a pluriform multiparty system, progressive social policies, and significant capital investment. As one of the Frontline States, Botswana played an influential role in countering the former apartheid government of South Africa.

Botswana has one of the most dynamic ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles