Schedule of Controlled Substances

The Controlled Substances Act (CSA), Titles II and III of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse and Prevention Control Act of 1970, provides the legal framework in the United States for regulating the use, distribution, and manufacture of controlled substances, including narcotics, stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens, and other psychoactive plants, drugs, and chemicals. The centerpiece of the CSA is the schedule of controlled substances (Title II), which classifies listed substances into one of five schedules according to their potential for abuse, medical utility, and safety or dependence liability. The schedules stipulate increasingly strict controls and restrictions on listed controlled substances.

Origins of the CSA

Prior to 1970, federal drug control was administered through an ad hoc regulatory framework amassed over the previous half century. Weaknesses in this patchwork regime ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles