In 2009, Vietnam had a population of approximately 86 million people. About 90% of the current population belongs to the majority group, known as the Kinh (or Viet), while the rest of the population includes 53 ethnic minority groups. The country has an area of about 329,000 square kilometers.

Vietnam can be divided into eight regions (see Figure 1). The northern part of the country consists of highlands in the North East and North West regions, the Red River Delta, and the North Central Coastal region. The southern portion of Vietnam can be classified as the coastal lowlands in the South Central Coastal region, the Central Highland (Tay Nguyen) region, the high plateaus of the South East region, and the Mekong River Delta. In every region ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles