Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 was a watershed piece of legislation that prohibited discrimination as a result of race, color, national origin, and gender in public accommodations as well as programs and activities that received federal financial assistance. The legislation was originally called for by President John F. Kennedy in 1963 and was signed into law by President Lyndon B. Johnson on July 2, 1964. The act included 11 titles regarding several issues such as voter registration, the desegregation of local school systems, and discrimination in employment. Title VI of the act specifically outlawed discrimination by government agencies and other programs that received federal financial assistance. Although Title VI did not automatically strip funding from programs that discriminate, it did provide federal agencies the ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles