Educational Diversity in Inner Asia

Throughout the 20th century, the people of Inner Asia were located within the borders or sphere of influence of either the Soviet Union or the People's Republic of China. Much of the region emerged as newly formed states after the breakup of the USSR. Today Inner Asia comprises the Republic of Mongolia, as well as the five independent Central Asian republics of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan; and the Inner Mongolia, Xinjiang Uyghur, and Tibet Autonomous Regions of the People's Republic of China. These areas are ethnically, religiously, and linguistically diverse and face a unique set of educational challenges as a result of rapid economic and political changes. This entry discusses the former Soviet Republics and the Autonomous Regions of China.

Former Soviet Republics of ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles