The countries of eastern Europe experience a number of natural disasters, and the fact that many of these countries are still economically vulnerable after the 1991 breakup of the Soviet Union makes it more difficult for their governments to deal with natural disasters. Destructive earthquakes occur in Albania, Bosnia, and Herzegovina; Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro; Slovenia; and Turkey. Flooding is frequently an issue in Albania, Estonia, Poland, Slovenia, and Turkey. Bulgaria, Moldova, and Romania are subject to landslides, and Albania experiences drought. Landslides may occur in Bulgaria, Moldova, and Romania. Albania is the only country in the region that is subject to tsunamis. Volcanic activity is an issue in the Kuril Islands and on the Kamchatka Peninsula within the Russian Federation and ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles