United States, Northeast

The northeast region of the United States consists of the New England states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. It also overlaps with the mid-Atlantic states of New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. The United States experiences a variety of disasters that range from hurricanes along the Atlantic Coast and the Gulf of Mexico to earthquakes around the Pacific basin.

In the northeastern states, areas along the Atlantic Coast are subject to hurricanes, but typically, hurricanes in the United States gain power over the Gulf Stream and make landfall in southern states before traveling northward toward New England. Common natural disasters that threaten the northeastern states are floods, tornadoes, blizzards, forest fires, and snow and ice storms. The northeastern states have also ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles