United States, Mountain States

The mountain states region of the United States is comprised of Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. This region is subject to a variety of natural disasters that include floods, forest fires, winter storms, snowstorms, mudslides, and landslides. Each state works with the federal government as well as local communities to develop strategies for disaster preparation, mitigation, and response. Among the eight states included in the mountain states region, each also has its own department or agency charged with overseeing disaster management. To use a specific example that is indicative of disaster management within other mountain states, Arizona has designated the Division of Emergency Management to fulfill this function. Engaged in preparedness, operations, and recovery, this agency is able to provide ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles