United States, Midwest

The midwest consists of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Nebraska. The states of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio are also considered part of the Great Lakes region.

The midwest region has been growing in population almost constantly since the early 1600s, and communities in the region have typically been self-reliant in the area of disaster relief. More organized relief came with charitable organizations like the Red Cross and Salvation Army, but disaster relief was still primarily local until the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) was created in 1976. The two most common disasters for the region are floods and tornadoes, but fire and industrial accidents has also claimed many lives throughout the midwest. Natural threats in the midwest ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles