• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

United States, Mid-Atlantic

The mid-Atlantic region of the United States is comprised of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. The region is primarily located along the Atlantic Coast seaboard and is comprised of a combination of rural and urban areas.

The mid-Atlantic region of the United States is vulnerable to a wide range of natural and human-made hazards that pose substantial risks to life and personal property to those living within the region. More than half of the population within the region lives near the eastern seaboard, which is particularly vulnerable to coastal flooding, erosion, and storms. Some researchers have projected that the mid-Atlantic region is likely to suffer from increased flooding and sea level rising as a result ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles