Ohio State University Collective of Curriculum Professors

During the tenure of Dean George Arps of the College of Education from 1920 to 1937, individuals and projects came together that set the course for curriculum studies at Ohio State University for nearly 60 years. The people included Boyd H. Bode, W. W. Charters, and Laura Zirbes. Arps lured Bode, a distinguished philosopher, to Columbus, Ohio, and to education in 1921. Three elements of Bode's philosophy shaped the pattern of curricular thinking that emerged in the college. Bode argued that curriculum development necessarily requires both a theory of mind or intelligence and a social theory, that the two necessarily go together. These elements were joined by a third, general education as that education essential to learning the ways of democracy required by all students. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles