In 1983, Howard Gardner, a Harvard University professor, authored Frames of Mind: The Theory of Multiple Intelligences and introduced his theory of multiple intelligence (also called MI theory) by initially identifying seven types of intelligence: linguistic intelligence, musical intelligence, logical-mathematical intelligence, spatial intelligence, bodily-kinesthetic intelligence, interpersonal intelligence, and intrapersonal intelligence. In 1999, he noted three additional intelligences—naturalist, spiritual, and existential intelligence.

Gardner's theory of multiple intelligence challenged traditional beliefs that intelligence is one single construct, thus providing educators new ways of thinking about curriculum content and delivery as related to the intelligences. Curriculum based on the MI theory allows educators to promote students' success by focusing on students' unique intelligences and by developing those less prominent.

The nine intelligences in MI theory that can be incorporated ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles