American Educational Research Association Division B

American Educational Research Association (AERA) Division B focuses on the field of curriculum studies. The origins of Division B stem from 1963, the year AERA President N. L. Gage appointed a five-member division planning committee. One member of that group, John R. Mayor, was asked to chair an organizing committee for “Curriculum and Objectives,” which became the original title for Division B. Mayor recommended four others to serve on the division's organizing committee, of which Vernon Anderson and Robert Gagne were selected. With a budget of $100, the division held its first meeting at the 1964 AERA annual meeting in Chicago. As a founding division, Curriculum and Objectives was assigned its letter designation alphabetically (following Division A: Administration). That same year, John I. Goodlad was ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles