• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Umayyads: Prehistory to 1250: Middle East

The Umayyad caliphate was the second of the four major Arab caliphates that were established after the death of the Prophet Muhammad. It took its name from Umayya ibn Abd Shams, whose family was originally from Mecca, and it dominated the ...

    • Loading...
    locked icon

    Sign in to access this content

    Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

    • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
    • Read modern, diverse business cases
    • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles