CONTAINED WITHIN the Civil Rights Act of 1968, the Fair Housing Act (Title VIII) bans potential discrimination in the real estate market. Most housing types are covered by the Fair Housing Act, except for certain exemptions by the act, which include buildings occupied by the owner with fewer than four units, single-family homes rented or sold without the assistance of a realtor, and housing administered or operated by private clubs. Enforcement of the Fair Housing Act is the responsibility of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).

The Fair Housing Act bans a number of discriminatory real estate actions based on race, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disabilities. No one may refuse to rent or sell housing, refuse to negotiate, take property ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles