Emancipation Proclamation

The Emancipation Proclamation was written by President Abraham Lincoln on September 22, 1862. The document was meant to coerce the 11 Confederate states (Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee, Florida, Mississippi, Arkansas, Texas, Louisiana—except the certain parishes that were specifically ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles