According to Tibetan tradition, the Dalai Lama is the incarnation of Avalokitesvara, the Buddha of Compassion, who chose to be reincarnated so that he could serve the people. To date there have been 14 Dalai Lamas.

The First Dalai Lama was called ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles