• Entry
  • Reader's guide
  • Entries A-Z
  • Subject index

Film Directors, Female: International

During the 82nd annual Academy Awards on March 7, 2010, Kathryn Bigelow (1951-) became the first woman to win the Oscar for Best Achievement in Directing for her 2008 The Hurt Locker, a film that also received the award for Best Picture, the first time a film directed by a woman has received this honor. Bigelow's historic achievement-which took place during Women's History Month, and on the eve of International Woman's Day-is perhaps the most significant accolade bestowed on a female director. Moreover, Bigelow is the first woman to win all three major directing awards-the Academy, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), and the Directors Guild of America (DGA)-for the same film.

In receiving the highest award from the Hollywood establishment, the ...

    • Loading...
    locked icon

    Sign in to access this content

    Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

    • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
    • Read modern, diverse business cases
    • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles