Handbook of Public Administration: Concise Paperback Edition


Edited by: B. Guy Peters & Jon Pierre

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Chapters
  • Front Matter
  • Subject Index
  • Copyright

    View Copyright Page

    List of Contributors

    Marleen Brans is Lecturer in Public Management Institute, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium

    Gary C. Bryner is Director of the Natural Resources Law Center, School of Law, University of Colorado at Denver, USA

    Paul Craig is Professor in English Law, Department of Law, University of Oxford, UK

    Linda deLeon is Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Graduate School of Public Affairs, University of Colorado, Denver, USA

    Morten Egeberg is a Professor at the Department of Political Science and Director of the ARENA Program, University of Oslo, Norway

    Robert Gregory is Associate Professor of Public Policy and Administration, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

    John Halligan is Professor of Public Administration, School of Business and Government, University of Canberra, Australia

    Thomas H. Hammond is Professor, Department of Political Science, Michigan State University, USA

    Carolyn J. Heinrich is Professor of Public Affairs, Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin – Madison, USA

    Rita M. Hilton is Senior Economist in the Office of the Vice-President for Environmentally and Socially Sustainable Development, The World Bank

    Philip G. Joyce is Associate Professor of Public Administration, School of Business and Public Management, The George Washington University, USA

    Jack H. Knott is Dean, USC School of Policy, Planning and Development, University of Southern California, USA

    Leonard Kok is Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Justice, The Hague, Netherlands

    Martin Lodge is Lecturer in Political Science and Public Policy, Department of Government, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK

    Laurence E. Lynn, Jr is George Bush Chair and Professor of Public Affairs, George Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University, USA

    Helen Margetts is Professor of Political Science and Director of the School of Public Policy, University College London, UK

    Marcia K. Meyers is Professor, School of Social Work, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

    Jorge Nef is Professor, Department of Rural Extension Studies, University of Guelph, Canada

    Laurence J. O’Toole, Jr is Golembiewski Professor and Head, Department of Public Administration and Policy, School of Public and International Affairs, University of Georgia, USA

    B. Guy Peters is Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

    Jon Pierre is Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

    Beryl A. Radin is Scholar in Residence, School of Public Affairs, American University Washington D.C., USA

    Bo Rothstein is August Röhss Professor of Political Science, Department of Political Science, Göteborg University, Sweden

    Luc Rouban is Director of Scientific Research at CEVIPOF (CNRS and IEP Paris) and Institut d’Etudes Politiques, Paris, France

    Fabio Rugge is Professor of Administrative History, Department of Political Science, University of Pavia, Italy

    Sally Coleman Selden is Associate Professor of Management, School of Business and Economics at Lynchburg College, USA

    Andy Smith is a Research Fellow, Fondation nationale des sciences politiques, CERVL research centre, Sciences-Po Bordeaux, France

    Jean-Claude Thoenig is Senior Research Fellow, Groupe d’Analyse des Politiques Publiques, CNRS and Ecole Normale Superieure de Cachan, Paris, and Professor of Sociology, INSEAD, France

    James R. Thompson is Assistant Professor of Public Administration, College of Planning and Public Affairs, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA

    Theo A.J. Toonen is Professor of Public Administration, Leiden University, The Netherlands

    A.J.G. Verheijen is Senior Public Sector Management Specialist, Poverty Reduction and Economic Management Network, The World Bank, Washington, DC

    Susan Vorsanger is Lecturer, School of Social Work, Columbia University, New York, USA

    Søren C. Winter is Research Professor, Danish National Institute of Social Research, Copenhagen, Denmark

    Lois R. Wise is Professor of Policy and Administration, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA

    Jacques Ziller is Professor of Comparative Public Law, Department of Law, European University Institute, Florence, Italy


    The publication of this volume reflects the culmination of a great deal of effort by a large number of people. The work of the authors and the section editors is obvious, but there is a great deal of effort that is less apparent but no less important. As editors we would like to express our gratitude to a number of individuals who were important in enabling us to complete the project and to produce a book which we believe will make a major contribution to both the academic study and the practice of public administration.

    The first people we should thank are Lucy Robinson and David Mainwaring from Sage. We had not thought of undertaking this project ourselves, but when Lucy proposed the Handbook we were sufficiently audacious, or foolhardy, to accept that challenge. From the beginning we had hoped there would be a paperback edition of the Handbook that would be more accessible to students and David helped us to bring that hope to fruition. Those two, and the remainder of the Sage staff, have been a delight to work with. They have been generous with useful and professional advice, but yet allowed us the freedom to develop the project in the way we thought best. They were also patient and supportive when some parts of the manuscript were not ready as soon as they might be. We look forward to a long publishing relationship with this team at Sage. We also want to thank the members of our Editorial Advisory Board:

    Professor Geert Bouackaert, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium

    Professor Hans-Ulrich Derlien, University of Bamberg, Germany

    Professor H. George Frederickson, University of Indiana, USA

    Professor John Halligan, University of Canberra, Australia

    Professor Christopher Hood, All Souls College, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

    Professor Jose Luis Mendez, El Colegio de Mexico, Mexico

    Professor Akira Nakamura, Meiji University, Japan

    Professor Donald Savoie, University of Moncton, Canada

    This group of distinguished scholars assisted us with the design of the project, with the selection of the section editors and authors, and with the assessment of the chapters when submitted. We are indebted to them for their time and efforts.

    Finally, somewhat unusually, we want to thank each other. This has been a cooperative and collaborative effort, and each of us has been able to pick up the slack at times when the other has been overwhelmed by other tasks, or family commitments, or life in general. This has been an academic partnership that continues to work well, and further continues to be a great deal of fun. We hope the readers will gain as much enjoyment in consuming this product as we have had in creating it.

    BGP JP

    • Loading...
Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website