• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Entry
  • Entries A-Z

  • The Communist Information Bureau was formed in 1947, with its headquarters in Belgrade. The organization was the successor of the Comintern, its mission also the overthrow of capitalism and the establishment of a global Communist state. The Cominterm was composed of nine European member Communist parties: the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, Poland, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, France, and Italy. In 1948, Yugoslavia was removed from the organization because Marshal Tito (1892–1980) refused to follow the dictates of the Russian leader Joseph Stalin. In 1956, the Cominform was dissolved by Nikita Khrushchev (1894–1971) as a sign of peace with the West and of making amends with Yugoslavia.

    See also

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website