• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Entry
  • Entries A-Z

  • The classification of different educational skills or abilities. Taxonomies are often used to define educational objectives and to classify instructional and assessment tasks. Taxonomies gener ally fall into one of three domains: cognitive, affective, and psychomotor. In 1956, Benjamin Bloom developed a taxonomy for the cognitive domain, which focuses on skills relating to memory, thinking, and reasoning. The cognitive taxonomy comprises six levels of complexity: knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation. The least complex cognitive skill is knowledge, which focuses on the recall of facts or concepts. Knowledge-level skills may include defining, describing, and matching. Comprehension refers to a level of understanding in which the individual can interpret, translate, or describe. Examples of behaviors that demonstrate comprehension are giving examples, paraphrasing, or summarizing. Application ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website