Somatic Nervous System

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Entry
  • Entries A-Z

  • Part of the peripheral nervous system and responsible for directing voluntary actions. While the central nervous system comprises the brain and the spine, the somatic nervous system is composed of the remaining nerves that establish the connection to the voluntary skeletal muscles and the sensory receptors. The somatic nervous system contains two different types of nerve fibers. Afferent nerve fibers are axons that transport incoming information from the outside to the central nervous system, while efferent nerve fibers are axons that transport outgoing information from the central nervous system to the outside.

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website